(Getting to) Kyoto and some touristy activities - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Nicole Clerx - WaarBenJij.nu (Getting to) Kyoto and some touristy activities - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Nicole Clerx - WaarBenJij.nu

(Getting to) Kyoto and some touristy activities

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nicole

20 April 2014 | Japan, Kyoto

After a beautiful hike around Nikko to forget about the fact that I wasn't diving into the Japanese Alps after all, I set off towards the south again. However, I wasn't alone: Scout, the hostel-owner, and Kitty, the Australian girl with whom I went hiking, decided to join me until Utsonomiya. This meant I had some company for the first 30km or so, and more people that could share the joy of the beautiful sakura along one of Japan's oldest routes to Edo. :)

The days afterwards were for me, myself and the bike again. A lot of traffic to cycle through and past the Tokyo-delta, which was not so much fun. Some climbing to make the tour around Mt. Fuji, which was beautiful but strenuous. A ferry ride filled with a nice chat to some elderly ladies, one of whom did unfortunately drop my camera (luckily it still works). Cycling through endless fields of tea, which makes dor beautiful pictures thst I didn't take because I was too busy pedaling away. And then, one last long day and arriving in Kyoto!
The route that I cycled is visible through this link: http://www.afstandmeten.nl/index.php?id=1306727,1306724,1306723,1306722,1306721,1306720,1306718 sorted per day.

I decided to comfortably stay in a hostel for four nights, what a treat! Unlimited electricity and wifi, and not having to find a new suitable sleeping spot every night, amazing! :)
The first evening I met Maisie, a girl from Brighton temporarily living in Tokyo, and since our plans were alignable (she was aiming for some classic tourist attractions and I had not made any plan at all), we decided to team up and explore the temples together.

Day one counted three temples, a lot of photographs, laughs and delicious icecream. In the evening I had a sudden streak of planning-the-Kyushu-part of my trip that made skip the evening stroll in Gion, but the next morning me and Maisie found each other again, to visit the million (well, many) Tori gates at Fushimi Inari.
Our first impressions weren't that great but luckily the number of tourists gradually declined as the number of gates we passed increased. We even managed to take some (hopefully slightly) less standard pictures and again had a lot of fun. Instead of rushing to the bamboo forest we decided to go for a beer, and on the way also obtained tickets for the Geisha dances for that night. This traditional Japanese art was intricate, elegant and very intriguing to watch. Certainly well-worth the (relatively) expensive tickets!
Maisie didn't want to leave Kyoto without seeing the bamboo grove (rightfully so), so on her last morning we caught the train for a short ride to get there. Again we were slightly disappointed at first sight, but yet again theis sentiment didn't last. Although mildly frustrated that neither of us could do the casually very elegant posing, we eventually gave up on the photoshoots and headed back to central Kyoto for a good lunch. Then, time for goodbye but knowing that we'll meet up in Tokyo (yay!) Maisie hopped on the Shinkansen and I went for some errands. Grocery shopping, cleaning the bike, packing up all my stuff and the afternoon was rapidly filled!

After a decent 3-day break from cycling I am quite keen to hop back onto the bike. Shikoku and Hiroshima, here I come!

  • 26 April 2014 - 22:30

    Eli:

    Lekker bezig Wol! Hoe is het om zo relatief veel alleen te zijn? Heb je al heimwee? (zou ik wel hebben) Anne, wat ik me afvroeg: wat eet je eigenlijk, elke dag sushi?
    Dikke knuffel!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Japan, Kyoto

Cycling in Japan

The epic post-graduation-trip should not be a 'standard' backpacking-experience. Southeast Asia tempted me, but not using buses and airplanes and taxis and whatsoever. Cycling tempted me. But, unfortunately, cycling in the monsoon season did not tempt me. Therefore I searched an alternative. Because cycling, that still tempted me.

The requirements for my destination were the following: unknown, on a continent that I had not visited earlier, with beautiful nature but mostly a culture that I hadn't sniffed before. And, not unimportantly, no monsoon season between April and June.

Japan it became, because after some google-ing it appeared that all my requirements would be met by going there!
--
Mijn epische na-je-afstuderen-reis moest niet een 'gewone' backpackers-trip worden. Zuid-Oost Azië, dat leek me wel wat, maar dan niet met bussen en vliegtuigen en taxi's enzo. Fietsen, dat leek me wel wat.
Maar, helaas, fietsen in het regenseizoen, dat leek me dan weer net niet wat. Op zoek naar een andere optie dus. Want het fietsen, dat leek me nog steeds wel wat.

De eisen waaraan de bestemming moest voldoen waren de volgende: onbekend, op een continent waar ik nog niet geweest was, met mooie natuur maar vooral een cultuur waar ik nog geen kaas van had gegeten. En, niet onbelangrijk, geen regenseizoen tussen april en juni.

Japan werd het, want na een beetje ge-google was al snel duidelijk dat dit voldeed aan al mijn eisen!

Recente Reisverslagen:

25 Juni 2014

Japanese Alps, sea and Tokyo madness!

09 Juni 2014

Cycling together is much more fun!

29 Mei 2014

Two months gone, one more to go..!

20 Mei 2014

So far I have cycled ...

15 Mei 2014

Some of Japan's intriguing conspicuities
Nicole

Actief sinds 01 Juni 2010
Verslag gelezen: 213
Totaal aantal bezoekers 32423

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2014 - 30 Augustus 2014

Cycling in Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan

05 April 2014 - 28 Juni 2014

Cycling in Japan

01 Januari 2011 - 01 Juli 2011

Studeren in Grenoble

11 Juni 2010 - 13 Juli 2010

Stage bij CFD

Landen bezocht: