Some of Japan's intriguing conspicuities - Reisverslag uit Ōita-shi, Japan van Nicole Clerx - WaarBenJij.nu Some of Japan's intriguing conspicuities - Reisverslag uit Ōita-shi, Japan van Nicole Clerx - WaarBenJij.nu

Some of Japan's intriguing conspicuities

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nicole

15 Mei 2014 | Japan, Ōita-shi

Credits to Elisabeth for the great idea (although I failed the "10 most ...-part"), and to the rain for creating more free time! ^.^

Firstly, I should mention that this list is, apart from complete in covering all oddities one might encounter in Japan, based on my personal and very subjective experiences. Some of my conclusions may be premature, incorrect or highly exaggerated but this list sort of reflects some of my main marvels so far.

Food:
- Rice. In everything. As a main ingredient, grinded to flour for baking, in sweets, distilled into alcohol, and even in animal food the ubiquitous rice powder does not lack.
- Raw fish and meat is delicious and not as fussed-about as in the western world. People don't seem to get sick or food-poisoned from it so, indeed, why worry? I'll happily keep enjoying the various kinds of sashimi and sushi, yum!
- Beans, beans, beans. Vegetable beans, protein beans but also sweet beans and a large variety of bean pasts/mashes. Quite good I must admit, although sometimes the rice dough filled with the sweet bean paste is slightly too much for me.
- Coffee here is drunk cold (iced) as often as it is warm. Hot coffee is of the weaker type, even in dedicated coffeeshops that are sometimes, well, let's call it traditional. And, strangely enough while there is mostly no added sugar in Japanese iced tea, most iced coffee is uncomfortably sweet. And yes, I do miss good espresso and cappuccino.

Road and traffic-related:
- Asphalt is everywhere. Even on the tiniest of tiny roads. Which is awesome, as its quality is generally at least acceptable.
- On the side of the asphalt there is almost always an insanely deep and well-hidden ditch. I am still waiting for the day that I really wreck my bike (and myself) by manoeuvring into one of them.
- While I earlier thought that the Fiat Multivla was the ugliest car ever, people here seem to go by "the uglier the better". More square must be more reliable, cool or better in whatever way, because I have never seen so many square 'koekblikken' as in Japan.
- Seat belts seem a relatively randomly worn accessory when driving a car. Also, operating your smartphone while driving is fine, not only when you're waiting for the traffic lights.
- While driving that car in one of the rare manual geared cars, apart from poorly sticking to the designated side of the road (what side?), shifting gears can be done at any desired speed, pretty much regardless the gears or speed. Car mechanics need a job as well, after all.

Random:
- Vending machines are everywhere. Did I mention the tiny roads? I think that wherever there is asphalt, there is also a vending machine containing cooled soft drinks.
- Books here in general start at the last page. Some may even have vertial sentences instead of horizontal ones, but there is no specific or predominant style.
- Convenience stores are ubiquitous, and often opened 24/7. Awesome.
- As there are so many Kanji that even well-educates Japanese don't know them all, there are special dictionaries to assist one reading the newspaper.

That's all for now. As I said, this list is far from being complete but I couldn't really think of any more, interesting oddities at the moment. I guess being in Japan for more than 1,5 month now has also made me get used to a lot of things. Cheerio!

  • 15 Mei 2014 - 16:14

    Li:

    Cheerio!!! ^_-

  • 15 Mei 2014 - 16:16

    Eli:

    NICE :D

  • 15 Mei 2014 - 19:23

    Fritz:

    Hahah nice, rice! ;)
    leuk je avonturen te lezen!
    xxx

  • 15 Mei 2014 - 22:17

    Maurice:

    Hahaha specially the kanji part amazes me every time.
    I have a japanese friend and she explained that she often has to guess at a meaning of a kanji.
    And the vending machines are awesome. Also can serve hot drinks.
    Hahah.

    Yes you are now familiar with japan.
    Not just history and such but also people and some of the more weird things.

    But I love it. And I really hope you love it too.
    and for now...enjoy the rest of the trip.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Japan, Ōita-shi

Cycling in Japan

The epic post-graduation-trip should not be a 'standard' backpacking-experience. Southeast Asia tempted me, but not using buses and airplanes and taxis and whatsoever. Cycling tempted me. But, unfortunately, cycling in the monsoon season did not tempt me. Therefore I searched an alternative. Because cycling, that still tempted me.

The requirements for my destination were the following: unknown, on a continent that I had not visited earlier, with beautiful nature but mostly a culture that I hadn't sniffed before. And, not unimportantly, no monsoon season between April and June.

Japan it became, because after some google-ing it appeared that all my requirements would be met by going there!
--
Mijn epische na-je-afstuderen-reis moest niet een 'gewone' backpackers-trip worden. Zuid-Oost Azië, dat leek me wel wat, maar dan niet met bussen en vliegtuigen en taxi's enzo. Fietsen, dat leek me wel wat.
Maar, helaas, fietsen in het regenseizoen, dat leek me dan weer net niet wat. Op zoek naar een andere optie dus. Want het fietsen, dat leek me nog steeds wel wat.

De eisen waaraan de bestemming moest voldoen waren de volgende: onbekend, op een continent waar ik nog niet geweest was, met mooie natuur maar vooral een cultuur waar ik nog geen kaas van had gegeten. En, niet onbelangrijk, geen regenseizoen tussen april en juni.

Japan werd het, want na een beetje ge-google was al snel duidelijk dat dit voldeed aan al mijn eisen!

Recente Reisverslagen:

25 Juni 2014

Japanese Alps, sea and Tokyo madness!

09 Juni 2014

Cycling together is much more fun!

29 Mei 2014

Two months gone, one more to go..!

20 Mei 2014

So far I have cycled ...

15 Mei 2014

Some of Japan's intriguing conspicuities
Nicole

Actief sinds 01 Juni 2010
Verslag gelezen: 340
Totaal aantal bezoekers 32416

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2014 - 30 Augustus 2014

Cycling in Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan

05 April 2014 - 28 Juni 2014

Cycling in Japan

01 Januari 2011 - 01 Juli 2011

Studeren in Grenoble

11 Juni 2010 - 13 Juli 2010

Stage bij CFD

Landen bezocht: